Mini Apple Rose Tarts

Welcome to my first post on Pie and DIY! Those of you who know me know that I’ve been wanting to start a baking and craft blog for years.

For those of you who don’t know me, hello! I’m Ash. I’m a writer and game streamer living in the Pacific Northwest who loves to make her roommates taste test all her baked goods and who can frequently be seen digging through the sale bins at her local craft store.

I’m hoping this blog will be a great outlet to share all the recipes I’ve been dying to try out and the long list of DIY projects I’ve been putting off. Being a recent college graduate, many of the projects and recipes I post will be on a shoestring budget.

Please feel free to comment below and let me know how this recipe turned out for you, or even to just say hi!

Thanks for checking out my first post. Hopefully I’ll have a better camera soon to do my recipes and projects justice!

final

Mini Apple Rose Tarts

Makes 6 tarts

I tend to kind of wing it when it comes to cooking and baking. I may start out with a recipe, but I typically end up modifying it halfway through and completely deviating from the original plan. To be honest, it’s because I usually don’t have all of the ingredients. That’s kind of what happened with this recipe. I was craving something sweet and remembered that I had a dozen apples in the kitchen. I was waffling between making a tart or a pie, and then I had an Old El Paso moment and was like, “why not both?” So I combined a few recipes and made these delicious apple rose tarts.

If you are on Pinterest a lot like I am, you’ve probably seen the apple rose tart that’s been floating around. I wanted to incorporate the rose apples into this recipe as well, because I like things that look as awesome as they taste.

Ingredients:

The crust (modified from this recipe).

-1 1/4 cup flour

-1/2 cup sugar

-1/4 tsp salt

-1/2 cup butter

-1 egg yolk

Filling (adapted from this recipe).

-2 apples (I used Gala, but Red Delicious would be ideal)

-2 tsp lemon juice

-3 cups water

-3 tbsp instant vanilla pudding mix

-1/2 cup white sugar

-3 tsp lemon juice

-1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

-1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Let’s make the crust first! Put flour, sugar, and salt in a blender or food processor and mix until just blended together.

3. Cut up butter into small pieces and add 1/2 to the flour and sugar mixture. Mix until just blended. Practice your best Paula Deen impersonation (“I love butta!”) Add the other half of the butter and blend together.

4. Add the egg yolk and mix until well-combined. EGGCELLENT.

3

5. Spray down whatever pan you’re using with cooking spray (either a muffin pan or small tart pan works). Remove the mixture from your blender/food processor and separate into 6 small tart pans or 6 cups in a cupcake pan (this is what I used). Set aside to make filling.

6. Cut apples in half and remove the core. Slice the apples into very thin pieces (leave the peel.) Grab a third apple and eat it BECAUSE IT’S GOOD FOR YOU, THAT’S WHY.

7. Place the apples slices into a microwave safe bowl with 3 cups of water and 2 tsp lemon juice.

8. Microwave the bowl with apples for 2 1/2 minutes. Set aside and let cool. Like The Fonz level of cool.

9. While the apples are cooling, mix instant vanilla pudding mix and white sugar together in a bowl.

10. Add lemon juice, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Mix well.

11. Spoon 2 tbsp of filling mixture into each tart crust.

9. Drain the apple slices and put on a flat surface. Line up apples layering them like pictured with the slices layered halfway over the previous one. I used 4 slices for each rose, but feel free to use as many as you’d like or whatever. I’m not the boss of you.

2

10. Grab the leftmost apple slice and roll. Place rolled apples in crust. (Optional: I also sprinkled mine with a little powdered sugar and cinnamon, but feel free to skip this if you’d like.)

11. Bake for 18-20 minutes until crust starts to brown.

12. Remove from oven, post on Instagram, pretend you made them for a group of people, eat them all yourself.

Thanks for reading my first post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

